Where the Fruit Falls

Spanning four generations, with a focus on the 1960s and 70s, an era of rapid social change and burgeoning Aboriginal rights, Where the Fruit Falls is a re-imagining of the epic Australian novel.

Brigid Devlin, a young Aboriginal woman, and her twin daughters navigate a troubled nation of First Peoples, settlers and refugees – all determined to shape a future on stolen land. Leaving the sanctuary of her family’s apple orchard, Brigid sets off with no destination and a willy wagtail for company. As she moves through an everchanging landscape, Brigid unravels family secrets to recover what she’d lost – by facing the past, she finally accepts herself. Her twin daughters continue her journey with their own search for self-acceptance, truth and justice.

An ancient ocean roars under the red dirt. Hush. Be still for just a moment.

Hear its thundering waves crashing on unseen shores.

UWA Publishing, October 2020
Winner of the 2020 Dorothy Hewett Award for an Unpublished Manuscript

This evocative family saga celebrates the strength and resilience of First Nations women, while touching on deeply traumatic aspects of Australian history. Threads of magic realism shimmer throughout the story, offering a deeper understanding of reality and challenging the reader to imagine a kinder, more just, more human world. Sally Morgan, Author of My Place.

In poetic and evocative storytelling, this writing celebrates the agency of Indigenous women to traverse ever-present landscapes of colonisation and intergenerational trauma. Country has an omniscient presence in their story lines, guiding the women across vivid desert and coastal landscapes. Where the Fruit Falls recognises both the open wounds of living histories of colonisation and the healing power of belonging to Country. 2020 Dorothy Hewett Award judges

Karen Wyld’s Where the Fruit Falls grabbed our attention as a powerful and moving story of intergenerational Indigenous women trying to ascertain their place in a volatile country, in the face of ongoing oppression and colonisation. In the characters we meet we are also told the stories of migrant people who were similarly marginalised and ostracised by a white Eurocentricism determined to turn this country into an unwelcome place for those who are different. Wyld uses beautifully poetic language which drew us in and held us from the beginning to the end page. Using storytelling between the characters as a central way this novel is constructed, this book reminds us of the power of Indigenous storytelling practices that the author undertakes herself. Judges’ report, Victoria Premier’s Literary Awards 2021

You can buy books direct from the publisher (see link above), from me (see below) or your favourite bookshop.
Buy e-book versions direct from the publisher’s website (See link above) or other ethical distributors.

All books ordered on this site (see below) are autographed. If you’d like a name added, please let me know by using the Contact form (see menu) or by contacting me on Twitter.

Buy Where The Fruit Falls Here:

All books are autographed. If you want a name added, please let me know. Shipping is to Australian addresses only. If you want it delivered to a friend, let me know. If you order more than one book, they can be sent to multiple addresses.


Recipient of the 2020 Dorothy Hewett Award for an Unpublished Manuscript
Shortlisted for Victorian Premier’s Literary Awards 2021
Longlisted for Australian Book Industry Awards 2021

Author interviews and reviews of Where the Fruit Falls

The West Australian – 5 October 2020 – Will Yeoman
The Advertiser’s Weekender – 14 October 2020 – First Person with Penelope Debelle
Sydney Moring Herald – 14 Dec 2020 – The women traversing a land that has beauty, trauma and story by Jessie Tu
Underground Writers – 18 November 2020 – Lauren Pratt
The Big Issue – 27 November 2020

Radio and Podcast Interviews

October 2020:
The Glasshouse RRR – with Bethany Atkinson Quinton
RN The Bookshelf – with Kate Evans
November 2020:
3CR Thursday Breakfast – with Carly Baque
First Time Podcast with Karen Mildenhall
2ser Final Draft with Andrew Pople

Selection of Listings and Mentions:

Readings 100 Great Reads from Australian Women in 2020
Readings Best Smart Summer Reads of 2020
Readings First Nations Voices
Better Read That Dead’s Summer Reading Guide 2020 – 2021
ArtsHub 2020 Summer Reading Guide
Writers SA Staff Picks
Marie Claire’s Ultimate Summer Reading Guide 2020
Melbourne Writers Festival – Must-read books by First Nations authors and What we’re reading this summer, Sonia
Blackfulla Bookclub, Kerry Klimm
Awaye! Picks Blak Books for Summer
Women’s Weekly January 2021, Summer Reading

Reader reviews on Goodreads and Instagram

After Australia

we live on, in story

Anthology by 12 speculative fiction authors
Edited by Michael Mohammed Ahmad
Affirm Press, June 2020

When Rosa Came Home 


Released in December 2013, this novel was short-listed for a South Australian People’s Choice Award in 2015.

A contemporary carnivalesque fantasy novel, set in an Australia vineyard. Suitable for 11 years old to adult.

Currently out of circulation.

Reviews on Amazon and Goodreads

Leave a Reply